Lets Bake Lasagne… With Lentils?


At 6:00 today I made a lasagne. Because I didn’t buy any vegetarian mints or cheese I used a white type of lentil called quinoa.

It actually tasted quite nice too my surprise (even if I don’t say so myself) but I’m finding the thought of eating more that a tiny square way too difficult. I don’t really like having too much different texture in my food, so I’m sticking to some strawberry jelly. Yeah, I like that idea!

Anyway, here are the steps and ingredients to making a lentil lasagne:

Ingredients:

  • A box of quinoa
  • Lasagne sheets (I chose Verdi which is spinach)
  • Water
  • Lasagne sauce (I chose the white sauce)
  • Cheese (I don’t eat dairy products)

Steps:

  1. Leave the lentils to soak in a pot of hot/boiling water. It should tell you the instructions of what to do on the back of the box. You can put in as much as you like, but remember that it swells when it soaks the water. Also remember not to put on too much water because you don’t want it to be too watery.
  2. Place a row of the lasagne sheets into a oven proof dish like the one in the picture. Remember to break the sheets so it can fit the base of the dish.
  3. Then add a row of the lentils.
  4. Then add a row of the sauce.
  5. Repeat stages 2,3 and 4 until all the ingredients are finished. You might still have a few lasagne sheets left so don’t worry.
  6. Then leave it in the oven. keep checking it to make sure that it doesn’t get over cooked by putting a knife into the lasagne to test it.
  7. Then get ready to eat. You can have it with salad, rice, anything. I had mine by itself and it tastes just as great.

I hope you try this recipe and enjoy it. If you don’t like it, at least you can say you tried something new!!

Right, I’ll leave you to do whatever it is that you were doing.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and/or cook this recipe.

I’m going to eat my jelly and read my sainsbury’s mag whilst drinking lots of water. (yes very exciting I hear you say… Yeah I agree! 🙂 )

Good day to you all, I’ll speak to you all soon. Happy Reading! From Nadine 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lets Bake Lasagne… With Lentils?

Comments are closed.